ITA seeks nominations for renewable energy advisory committee

By Erin Voegele | July 09, 2018

The International Trade Administration has renewed its Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency Advisory Committee and is soliciting nominations for membership.

The committee advises the Secretary of Commerce regarding the development and administration of programs and policies to expand the competitiveness of U.S. exports of renewable energy and energy efficiency goods and services. Renewable fuels, including liquid biofuels and biomass pellets, are among the goods addressed by the committee. Feedstocks for biofuels, however, are not covered. Work on energy efficiency focuses on technologies, services and platforms that provide system-level energy efficiency to electricity generation, transmission and distribution. The committee does not address vehicles or energy efficiency at it relates to consumer goods.

The committee consists of approximately 35 members. The ITA is inviting nominations of qualified individuals who will represent U.S. companies, U.S. trade associations, and U.S. private sector organizations with activities focused on the export competitiveness of U.S. renewable energy and energy efficiency goods and services. According to the ITA, committee members shall reflect the diversity of the sector, including in terms of entity or organization size, geographic location, and subsector represented. The committee shall also represent the diversity of company or organization roles in the development of renewable energy and energy efficiency projects, including project developers, technology integrators, financial institutions and manufacturers.

Current committee members include Kelly Davis, director of Regulatory Affairs at the Renewable Fuels Association; Michael Dwyer, chief economist of the U.S. Grains Council; Seth Ginther, executive director of the U.S. Industrial Pellet Association; and Paula Soos, vice president of government relations at Covanta Energy. A full list of current committee members is available on

Nominations are due Aug. 17. Additional information on the committee and how to submit nominations is available on the Federal Register website